Excerpts from “What Gold Buys: A Silver Rush Mystery”

Autumn 1880 in the Rocky Mountains brings frost, snow and the return of Silver Queen Saloon owner Inez Stannert to Leadville, Colorado, in What Gold Buys, the fifth of Ann Parker’s Silver Rush historical mystery series. In this silver rush boomtown, those who are hungry for material riches seek their fortunes in precious metals while …

Read more

Book Reviews

Mercury’s Rise
by Ann Parker
Published in 2011 by Poisoned Pen Press
ISBN 978-1-69058-961-8

Reviewed by Ed Quillen

You could say that Ann Parker is an elemental writer, or maybe a metallic one, given her book titles. Mercury Rising is the fourth in a series that includes Silver Lies, Iron Ties, and Leaden Skies. All feature the adventures of Inez Stannert, a partner in the Silver Queen Saloon in the boomtown Leadville of 1880.

Read more